weraatlas.blogg.se

Be brave in spanish
Be brave in spanish












be brave in spanish

Having a strong start to my swimming journey helped to pave the way for future opportunities, such as when Special Olympics Indonesia generously funded my training in public speaking and leadership skills. It was the first time I had the opportunity to compete against other world-class athletes, and miraculously, I managed to clinch a Gold medal during the event. My first international event, the 2011 Special Olympics World Summer Games in Athens, Greece, was especially memorable for me. Today, I am 26, and I have represented Indonesia in multiple national, regional and global swimming competitions, winning several Gold medals in the process. I am reminded to be brave in changing the public’s mindsets towards people with intellectual disabilities by showing the world what I can achieve. I am constantly reminded to be “brave in the attempt” to face my fears and overcome the odds.Īs someone with Down syndrome, this philosophy applies to all aspects of my life-both on and off the sporting arena. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.” My family and coaches also helped me get over the trauma by reminding me of the Special Olympics athlete oath-“Let me win. It took at least half a year before I could swim 50 metres independently. Literally.Įventually, my mother helped me conquer my paralyzing fear by staying in the water with me during training sessions and reassuring me when I protested. Occasionally, I would even worry myself sick. Or I would come up with excuses that it was too cold, or that the pool was too deep. When my swimming coaches tried to persuade me to resume training, I used to tell them that I was too afraid of the water. Since then, I developed a terrible phobia of the water. When I was nine years old, I almost drowned during a swimming competition.














Be brave in spanish